Laserfiche WebLink
<br />REGULAR MEETING AUGUST 26, 2013 <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />Be it remembered that the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana met in the <br />Council Chambers of the County-City Building on Monday, August 26, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. The <br />meeting was called to order by Council President Derek Dieter and the Invocation and Pledge to <br />the Flag were given. <br /> <br /> <br />ROLL CALL <br /> <br />COUNCILMEMBERS: <br /> <br /> <br />st <br />Present: Tim Scott 1 District <br />nd <br /> Henry Davis, Jr. 2 District (Late 7:05 p.m.) <br />rd <br /> Valerie Schey 3 District <br />th <br /> Fred Ferlic 4 District <br />th <br /> Oliver J. Davis 6 District, Vice-President <br />th <br /> David Varner 5 District <br /> Derek Dieter At-Large, President <br /> Gavin Ferlic At-Large <br /> <br />Absent: Karen L. White At-Large, Chairperson Committee of the Whole (Excused) <br /> <br /> <br />OTHERS PRESENT: <br /> <br /> <br /> John Voorde City Clerk <br /> Janice I. Talboom Deputy <br /> Mary Beth Wisniewski Chief Deputy <br /> Kathleen Cekanski-Farrand Council Attorney <br /> <br />REPORT FROM THE SUB-COMMITTEE ON MINUTES <br />Councilmember Scott made a motion that the minutes of the August 12, 2013, meeting of the <br />Council be accepted and placed on file. Councilmember Schey seconded the motion which <br />carried by a voice vote of nine (8) ayes. <br /> <br />SPECIAL BUSINESS <br /> <br />RESOLUTION NO. 4276-13 A RESOLUTION OF THE SOUTH BEND <br /> <br /> COMMON COUNCIL HONORING THE <br /> DISTRICT 11 SOUTH BEND SENIOR LEAGUE <br /> GIRL’S SOFTBALL TEAM – THE 2013 <br />` SOFTBALL WORLD CHAMPIONS <br /> <br /> Whereas, the South Bend Common Council recognizes that for the past eight (8) seasons, the <br />South Bend Senior League Softball Team has represented USA Central in the World Series; and <br />Whereas, the Common Council further recognizes that on Saturday, August 10, 2013, in Sussex <br />County, Delaware, the District 11 All Stars representing players from all South Bend Schools, <br />New Prairie and Marian High Schools for Central USA and the entire country played in the title <br />game of the Senior Little League Under 16 Softball World Series; and <br />Whereas, the City Council is especially proud to recognize that the District 11 South Bend <br />Senior League Girls’ Softball Team included: <br /> <br /># 1 Katlynn Sopczynski # 7 Alyssa Gutierrez # 18 Brook Versmesse <br /># 2 Nichole Kirkpatrick # 9 Veronica Rodriguez # 21 Claire Cwidak <br /># 3 Melissa Hicks # 10 Ashton Woods # 22 Dezaray Watts <br /># 4 Kelsy Keilman # 13 Shannon McCarty # 24 Meghan Sink <br /># 5 Madeline Logsdon # 15 Toree Friedrich Manager Derek Hicks <br /># 6 Hanna Andrysiak # 16 Megan Bonk Coach Matthew Kirkpatrick <br /> Coach Jesus Gutierrez <br />1 <br /> <br /> <br />