

2025 COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES (Rev. 03-10-2025)

COMMUNITY INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities of the Department of Community Investment. This Committee reviews all real and personal tax abatement requests and works closely with the Business Development Team.

Troy Warner, Chairperson Karen L. White, Vice-Chairperson Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers., Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member Thomas Gryp, *Citizen Member* Kaine Kanczuzewski, *Citizen Member*

COMMUNITY RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities of the Engagement and Economic Empowerment, Neighborhood Development, and Community Resources Teams within the City's Department of CI and is charged with facilitating partnerships and ongoing communications with other public and private entities operating within the City.

Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Chairperson Karen L. White, Vice-Chairperson Citizen Member Sheila Niezgodski, Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member

COUNCIL RULES COMMITTEE

Oversees the regulations governing the overall operation of the Common Council, as well as all matters of public trust. Its duties are set forth in detail in Section 2-10.1 of the *South Bend Municipal Code*.

Canneth Lee, Member Rachel Tomas Morgan, Member Troy Warner, Member

HEALTH AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities performed by the Fire and Police Departments, EMS, Department of Code Enforcement, ordinance violations, and related health and public safety matters.

Rachel Tomas Morgan, Chairperson Troy Warner, Vice-Chairperson Sheila Niezgodski, Member Citizen Member Sharon McBride, Member Dr. Oliver Davis, Member Citizen Member

INFORMATION AND TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE- Innovation

Oversees the various activities of the City's Department of Innovation, which includes the Divisions of Information Technology and 311 so that the City of South Bend remains competitive and on the cutting edge of developments in this area. Reviewing and proposing upgrades to computer systems and web sites, developing availability and access to GIS data and related technologies are just some of its many activities.

Rachel Tomas Morgan, Chairperson
Sharon McBride, Member
Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Vice-Chairperson
Dr. Oliver Davis, Member
Citizen Member
Citizen Member

PARC COMMITTEE- Venues Parks and Arts (Parks, Recreation, Cultural Arts & Entertainment)

Oversees the various activities of the Century Center, College Football Hall of Fame, Four Winds Stadium, Morris Performing Arts Center, Studebaker National Museum, South Bend Regional Museum of Art, Potawatomi Zoo, My SB Trails, DTSB relations, and the many recreational and leisure activities offered by the Department of Venues Parks and Arts.



Sharon L. McBride, Chairperson Karen L. White, Vice- Chairperson Citizen Member

Ophelia Gooden-Rogers, Member Troy Warner, Member

PERSONNEL AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

Oversees the activities performed by the Department of Administration and Finance, and reviews all proposed salaries, budgets, appropriations, and other fiscal matters, as well as personnel policies, health benefits and related matters.

Sheila Niezgodski, Chairperson Karen L. White, Vice-Chairperson Dr. Oliver Davis, Member Rachel Tomas Morgan, Member

PUBLIC WORKS AND PROPERTY VACATION COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities performed by the Building Department, the Department of Public Works and related public works and property vacation issues.

Sheila Niezgodski, Chairperson Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Vice-Chairperson

Carl Littrell, Citizen Member

Dr. Oliver Davis, Member Troy Warner, Member

Jason Piontek, Citizen Member

RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOODS COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities and issues related to neighborhood development and enhancement.

Karen L. White, Chairperson Sheila Niezgodski, Vice-Chairperson Gabriel Murei, *Citizen Member* Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Member Sharon McBride, Member

UTILITIES COMMITTEE

Oversees the activities of all enterprise entities including but not limited to the Bureau of Waterworks, Bureau of Sewers, and all related matters.

Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Chairperson Dr. Oliver Davis, Vice-Chairperson Firdia Johnson, Citizen Member Sheila Niezgodski, Member Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Member Joseph Mayer, Citizen Member

ZONING AND ANNEXATION COMMITTEE

Oversees the activities related to the Board of Zoning Appeals, recommendations from the Area Plan Commission and the Historic Preservation Commission, as well as all related matters addressing annexation and zoning.

Dr. Oliver Davis, Chairperson Rachel Tomas Morgan, Vice-Chairperson Henry Davis Jr., Citizen Member Troy Warner, Member Karen L. White, Member Stacey Odom, Citizen Member

SUB-COMMITTEE ON MINUTES

Reviews the minutes prepared by the Office of the City Clerk of the regular, special, and informal meetings of the Common Council and makes a recommendation on their approval/modification to the Council.

Troy Warner, Member

Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member



2025 COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES (Rev.03-10-2025)

CANNETH LEE, 1ST District Council Member

President

Council Rules Committee, Member

OPHELIA GOODEN-RODGERS, 2nd District Council Member

Community Relations Committee, Chairperson

Public Works & Property Vacation Committee, Vice-Chairperson

Community Investment Committee, Member PARC Committee, Member Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Member Utilities Committee, Member

SHARON L. MCBRIDE, 3rd District Council Member

Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Member PARC Committee, Chairperson Health & Public Safety Committee, Member Information & Technology Committee, Member

TROY WARNER, 4TH District Council Member

Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

Community Investment Committee, Chairperson

Council Rules Committee, Member PARC Committee, Member

Zoning & Annexation Committee, Member

Health and Public Safety, Vice-Chairperson Public Works & Property Vacation, Member Sub-Committee on the Minutes, Member

SHERRY BOLDEN-SIMPSON, 5TH District Council Member

Utilities Committee, Chairperson

Information & Technology, Vice-Chairperson

Sub-Committee on Minutes, Member

Community Relations Committee, Member Community Investment Committee, Member

SHEILA NIEZGODSKI, 6TH District Council Member

Personnel & Finance Committee, Chairperson

Public Works & Property Vacation, Chairperson

Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Vice-Chairperson

Utilities Committee, Member

Health & Public Safety Committee, Member Community Relations Committee, Member

DR. OLIVER DAVIS, AT LARGE Council Member

Zoning & Annexation Committee, Chairperson

Utilities Committee, Vice-Chairperson

Personnel & Finance Committee, Member

Public Works & Property Vacation Committee, Member Information & Technology Committee, Member Health & Public Safety Committee, Member

RACHEL TOMAS MORGAN, AT LARGE Council Member

Vice-President

Health & Public Safety Committee, Chairperson Information & Technology Committee, Chairperson

Zoning & Annexation Committee, Vice-Chairperson

Council Rules Committee, Member

Personnel & Finance Committee, Member

KAREN L. WHITE, AT LARGE Council Member

Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Chairperson

Community Investment Committee, Vice-Chairperson Community Relations Committee, Vice-Chairperson

Personnel & Finance Committee, Vice-Chairperson Zoning & Annexation Committee, Member

PARC Committee, Vice-Chairperson