

Rachel Tomas Morgan

At Large Council Member

MEETING DATES	TOPICS DISCUSSED
February 27, hybrid	1. Organizational Meeting
April 17, hybrid	Department of Innovation & Technology Annual Report 2022 and State of the Department Presentation by Chief Innovation Officer Denise Riedl & Staff
July 11, hybrid	 Reviewing Committee and Council I&T Priorities Digital Equity Plan Presentation by Denise Linn Riedl, Chief Innovation Officer; Patrick McGuire, Technology Equity Manager-IT; and Madi Rogers, Director of Civic Innovation-IT Strategic Discussion: Crafting a Vision for Customer Service Discussion led by Denise Linn Riedl, Chief Innovation Officer; Madi Rogers, Director of Civic Innovation-IT, and Cathleen Sutherland, Director of 311 Customer Service Departmental Updates
October 3, hybrid	Joint Meeting of the Information (Innovation) & Technology and Community Investment Committees 1. Updates on Business Assistance Support, Grants, and Programs by Denise Linn Riedl, Chief Innovation Officer, and Caleb Bauer, Executive Director, Department of Community Investment
November 14, hybrid Council Meeting	Departmental Update: Results of the 2024 Community Survey Presentation by Mr. David Finley, Director Business Analyst

In addition to the scheduled committee meeting, committee members were invited to participate in a Regional Broadband Visioning Session on June 27, 2023, and to participate in one of the South Bend Police Department's Transparency Hub User Sessions. Committee members were also invited to attend the Business Security Grant Program Press Conference and Launch Event on August 31, 2023.

Throughout 2023, Committee Chair and CIO of Innovation & Technology met monthly for updates and meeting committee meeting agenda setting.

227 W. Jefferson Blvd. Rm. 441 County-City Building South Bend, IN 46601-1830 Office: Voicemail: (574) 235-5982 (574) 235-5979 FAX: (574) 235-9173 TDD: (574) 235-5567

Email: RTOMASMO@SOUTHBENDIN.GOV



At Large Council Member

To: South Bend Common Council

Office of the City Clerk

From: Councilmember At-Large Rachel Tomas Morgan; Chair, Health and Public Safety Committee

Date: January 4, 2024

2023 Annual Report of the Information (Innovation) and Technology Committee

Pursuant to the requirements of Section 2-10(i) of the South Bend Municipal Code, this report sets forth a summary of business conducted by the Common Council's Information (Innovation) and Technology Committee for the year 2023.

Duties: The Information (Innovation) and Technology Committee oversees the various activities of the City's Department of Innovation which includes the Divisions of Information Technology and 311 so that the City of South Bend remains competitive and on the cutting edge of developments in this area. Reviewing and proposing upgrades to computer systems and websites, developing availability and access to GIS data and related technologies are some of its many activities.

Members: Three (3) Council Members and two (2) Citizen Members served on the Committee for the year. They included:

- 1. Councilmember At-Large, Rachel Tomas Morgan, Chairperson
- 2. Councilmember At-Large, Lori Hamann, Vice-Chairperson
- 3. Councilmember District 1, Canneth Lee, Member
- 4. Ms. Maria Gibbs, Citizen Member
- 5. Mr. Scott Matthew Coats, Citizen Member

Meetings: Four (4) committee meetings were held including one meeting in conjunction with the Community Investment Committee. Additionally, the Committee arranged a Council meeting presentation for Innovation & Technology to share results of the 2024 Community Survey.

All committee meeting notices, minutes, and recordings have been posted and may be accessed in committee folders from the Common Council's website at https://southbendin.gov/department/common-council/

(574) 235-5982

(574) 235-5979

FAX: (574) 235-9173

TDD: (574) 235-5567

Email: RTOMASMO@SOUTHBENDIN.GOV

Office:

Voicemail:

Meeting dates in 2023 and topics discussed are as follows:



Respectfully submitted,

Rachel Tomas Morgan

Councilmember At-Large

Chairperson, Information (Innovation) and Technology Committee

I Tomer Wagan

Office: Voicemail: (574) 235-5982 (574) 235-5979 FAX: (574) 235-9173 TDD: (574) 235-5567

Email: RTOMASMO@SOUTHBENDIN.GOV