

INFORMATION & TECHNOLOGY SEPTEMBER 12, 2022, 4:10 P.M.

Committee Members Present: Rachel Tomas Morgan, Lori Hamann, Canneth Lee*,

Maria Gibbs, Scott Mathew Coats

Councilmembers Present: Troy Warner*, Eli Wax

Presenters: Denise Riedl

Others Present: Dawn Jones, Victoria Trujillo, Justin LePla, Bob

Palmer

Agenda: Bill No.22-42 – A Resolution Designating the City

of South Bend as Broadband Ready

Members marked with an asterisk (*) are present digitally

Please note the attached link for the meeting recording: https://docs.southbendin.gov/WebLink/browse.aspx?dbid=0&mediaid=357323

Committee Chair Rachel Tomas Morgan called to order the Information and Technology Committee at 4:10 p.m.

Bill No. 22-42 - A Resolution Designing the City of South Bend as Broadband Ready

This Bill is to expand broadband and has been supported by the Mayor's office. The resolution allows for the facilitation of initiatives. South Bend has been named a digital inclusion trailblazer by the National Digital Inclusion Alliance.

Councilmember Troy Warner thanked Denise Riedl, Mayor Mueller, and Committee Chair Tomas Morgan for positioning the city in a proactive place to capture infrastructure dollars.

Committee Member Canneth Lee stated his excitement about the City's status as "Digital Inclusion Trailblazer" in terms of accessibility.

Denise Riedl, Chief Innovation Officer for the City of South Bend, with offices on the twelfth (12th) floor of the County-City Building, noted that the main point of the Mayor's executive order is to adopt standard operating procedures and best practices that have been outlined by the state to be broadband ready. It is hard to bridge the digital gap alone and there are different avenues that are being researched. Many of the best practices have been followed by the City. A plan to bridge inequity in access to internet is being created.



Citizen Member Gibbs asked how many other comparable cities have adopted this and positive consequences of it.

Denise Riedl noted that large cities have adopted this, but comparable cities have not.

Committee Chair Tomas Morgan held the public hearing, and nobody spoke.

Committee member Canneth Lee motioned to send Bill No. <u>22-42</u> to the Committee of the Whole with a favorable recommendation, seconded by Committee member Rachel Tomas Morgan, and carried by a vote of five (5) ayes.

Committee Chair Rachel Tomas Morgan - Aye	Committee Vice-chair Lori Hamann - Aye
Committee member Canneth Lee - Aye	Citizen member Maria Gibbs - Aye
Citizen member Scott Mathew Coates - Aye	

With no further business, Committee Chair Rachel Tomas Morgan adjourned the Information and Technology Committee meeting at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachel Tomas Morgan, Committee Chair

Ruhl Tomer Wagan