

City of South Bend Common Council

(574) 235-9321 Fax (574) 235-9173 TDD (574) 235-5567 http://www.southbendin.gov

441 County-City Building • 227 W. Jefferson Blvd South Bend, Indiana 46601

Sharon L. McBride President

Sheila Niezgodski Vice President

Canneth Lee Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

Canneth Lee First District

Henry Davis, Jr. Second District

Sharon L. McBride Third District

Troy Warner Fourth District

Eli Wax Fifth District

Sheila Niezgodski Sixth District

Karen L. White At Large

Rachel Tomas Morgan At Large

Lori K Hamann At Large

NEWS RELEASE

Subject: Jack Reed Memorial Celebration

Date: Friday, June 30, 2023

From: Council President, Sharon L. McBride

Contact: smcbride@southbendin.gov

Jack Reed Memorial Celebration

On April 15, 2023, the City of South Bend was saddened to learn of the passing of a dedicated public servant and legend, Mr. Ernest "Jack Reed". Mr. Jack Reed was Acting Mayor under former Mayor and Governor, Joe Kernan and the Mayor's Assistant under former Mayor, Stephen Luecke.

The community is invited to celebrate the Life & Legacy of Mr. Reed on **Thursday**, **July 6**, **2023** at the **Century Center**, **Discovery Ballroom**, located at **120 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd** at **6:00 p.m.** Doors will open at **5:00 p.m.**

The event is sponsored by the City of South Bend and the South Bend Fire Department.

###

