Laserfiche WebLink
<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />South Bend Common Council <br /> <br />NEWS RELEASE <br />January 6, 2008, 9 a.m. <br /> <br /> <br />South Bend Common Council Elects Officers for 2009 <br /> <br />Contact: Derek D. Dieter, Council President 532-2200 or 235-5982 <br /> <br />st <br />1 District Council <br />At last evening’s Organizational Meeting of the South Bend Common Council, <br />Member Derek D. Dieter <br />was unanimously elected to be the Council President for calendar year 2009. <br />st <br />President Dieter has served as 1 District Council Member since 2004; authored the anti-noise and stun gun <br />ordinances, and the scrap metal ordinance along with Council Members Puzzello and White; and maintains a <br />st <br />hot-line for loud music/loud noise complaints from citizens. Dieter created the “1 District Youth of the <br />st <br />Month” award; the “1 District Citizen of the Month” award where residents of the District are publicly <br />nd <br />honored for their service and leadership to the community; and in his 2 year began the “Business of the <br />Month” with more than 170 such awards being given. <br /> <br />th <br />6 District Council Member Oliver J. Davis <br />Also unanimously last evening were as Vice-President. Vice- <br />President Davis served as the Council’s Vice-President in 2008; served on the City Advisory Negotiating <br />Team last year for police and fire labor negotiations; and also served as the Utilities Committee Chairperson. <br /> <br />th <br />4 District Council Member Ann Puzzello <br /> was unanimously elected Committee of the Whole Chairperson <br />and will conduct all hearings on proposed ordinances which come before the Council this year. Council <br />th <br />Member Puzzello is serving her 5 term on the South Bend Common Council; having served as Council <br />President in 1989 and in 1993; and served as Parks and Recreation Committee Chairperson last year. <br /> <br />President Dieter and Council Member at Large Karen L. White <br /> noted last evening that the “city budget <br />will be the Council’s top priority”. Dieter noted that all Council Members will be sharing their ideas in <br />helping the City Administration explore all options to ensure fiscal responsibility and the quality of city <br />services. TIF and redevelopment monies will be looked into so that our city taxpayers receive the best <br />possible city services which are necessary, and affordable. “Communication and transparency” will be the <br />theme for 2009 as the South Bend Common Council will review all budget requests line-by-line, to assure <br />Council Member Timothy A. Rouse <br />that the city taxpayers concerns are properly addressed. was thanked <br />for his three (3) years of service as Council President and Kathleen Cekanski-Farrand was elected Council <br />Attorney for 2009. President Dieter stated that “it will be an honor to serve as the Council President this <br />year and that he looks forward to working with the entire Council, the City Administration, and especially <br />the city residents in creatively addressing the many challenges facing South Bend”. <br /> <br />-30- <br /> <br />