

## 2024 COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES (Rev. 07-22-2024)

### COMMUNITY INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities of the Department of Community Investment. This Committee reviews all real and personal tax abatement requests and works closely with the Business Development Team.

Troy Warner, Chairperson Rachel Tomas Morgan, Vice-Chairperson Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers., Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member Kaine Kanczuzewski, Citizen Member Thomas Gryp, Citizen Member

### **COMMUNITY RELATIONS COMMITTEE**

Oversees the various activities of the Engagement and Economic Empowerment, Neighborhood Development, and Community Resources Teams within the City's Department of CI and is charged with facilitating partnerships and ongoing communications with other public and private entities operating within the City.

Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Chairperson Canneth Lee, Vice-Chairperson *Citizen Member*  Sheila Niezgodski, Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member

### **COUNCIL RULES COMMITTEE**

Oversees the regulations governing the overall operation of the Common Council, as well as all matters of public trust. Its duties are set forth in detail in Section 2-10.1 of the *South Bend Municipal Code*.

Sharon L. McBride, Member Sheila Niezgodski, Member Troy Warner, Member

### HEALTH AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities performed by the Fire and Police Departments, EMS, Department of Code Enforcement, ordinance violations, and related health and public safety matters.

Rachel Tomas Morgan, Chairperson Dr. Oliver Davis, Vice-Chairperson Karen L. White, Member Troy Warner, Member Savino Rivera, Citizen Member Frank Spesia, Citizen Member

### **INFORMATION AND TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE- Innovation**

Oversees the various activities of the City's Department of Innovation, which includes the Divisions of Information Technology and 311 so that the City of South Bend remains competitive and on the cutting edge of developments in this area. Reviewing and proposing upgrades to computer systems and web sites, developing availability and access to GIS data and related technologies are just some of its many activities.

Rachel Tomas Morgan, Chairperson	Canneth Lee, Member
Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Vice-Chairperson	Maria Gibbs, Citizen Member
Kate Berlent, Citizen Member	

PARC COMMITTEE- Venues Parks and Arts (Parks, Recreation, Cultural Arts & Entertainment) Oversees the various activities of the Century Center, College Football Hall of Fame, Four Winds Stadium, Morris Performing Arts Center, Studebaker National Museum, South Bend Regional Museum of Art, Potawatomi Zoo, My SB Trails, DTSB relations, and the many recreational and leisure activities offered by the Department of Venues Parks and Arts.

Canneth Lee, Chairperson Troy Warner, Vice-Chairperson *Citizen Member*  Dr. Oliver Davis, Member Rachel Tomas Morgan, Member



### PERSONNEL AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

Oversees the activities performed by the Department of Administration and Finance, and reviews all proposed salaries, budgets, appropriations, and other fiscal matters, as well as personnel policies, health benefits and related matters.

Sheila Niezgodski, Chairperson Troy Warner, Vice-Chairperson Rachel Tomas Morgan, Member Ross Deal, Citizen Member Karen L. White, Member Canneth Lee, Member Angela Smith, Citizen Member

### PUBLIC WORKS AND PROPERTY VACATION COMMITTEE

Oversees the various activities performed by the Building Department, the Department of Public Works and related public works and property vacation issues.

Sheila Niezgodski, Chairperson Karen L. White, Vice-Chairperson Jason Piontek, Citizen Member Dr. Oliver Davis, Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member Carl Littrell, Citizen Member

### **RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOODS COMMITTEE**

Oversees the various activities and issues related to neighborhood development and enhancement.

Karen L. White, Chairperson Canneth Lee, Vice-Chairperson Amika Micou, Citizen Member Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Member Sheila Niezgodski, Member *Citizen Member* 

### **UTILITIES COMMITTEE**

Oversees the activities of all enterprise entities including but not limited to the Bureau of Waterworks, Bureau of Sewers, and all related matters.

Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Chairperson Dr. Oliver Davis, Vice-Chairperson Joseph Mayer, Citizen Member Troy Warner, Member Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Member Dr. Janet J. Evelyn, Citizen Member

#### ZONING AND ANNEXATION COMMITTEE

Oversees the activities related to the Board of Zoning Appeals, recommendations from the Area Plan Commission and the Historic Preservation Commission, as well as all related matters addressing annexation and zoning.

Dr. Oliver Davis, Chairperson Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Vice-Chairperson Stacey Odom, Citizen Member Sheila Niezgodski, Member Karen L. White, Member Jorden Giger, Citizen Member

#### **SUB-COMMITTEE ON MINUTES**

Reviews the minutes prepared by the Office of the City Clerk of the regular, special, and informal meetings of the Common Council and makes a recommendation on their approval/modification to the Council.

Troy Warner, Member

Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Member



# 2024 COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES (Rev.03-21-2024)

## CANNETH LEE, 1<sup>ST</sup> District Council Member Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

### PARC Committee, Chairperson

Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Vice-Chairperson Community Relations Committee, Vice-Chairperson Personnel & Finance Committee, Member Information & Technology Committee, Member

## **OPHELIA GOODEN-RODGERS, 2nd District Council Member**

**Community Relations Committee, Chairperson** Zoning & Annexation Committee, Vice-Chairperson Community Investment Committee, Member Utilities Committee, Member Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Member

# SHARON L. MCBRIDE, 3rd District Council Member

### **President**

Council Rules Committee, Member

## TROY WARNER, 4<sup>TH</sup> District Council Member

**Community Investment Committee, Chairperson** Personnel & Finance Committee, Vice-Chairperson PARC Committee, Vice-Chairperson Council Rules Committee, Member Health & Public Safety Committee, Member Utilities Committee, Member Sub-Committee on the Minutes, Member

## SHERRY BOLDEN-SIMPSON, 5<sup>TH</sup> District Council Member

Utilities Committee, Chairperson Information & Technology, Vice-Chairperson Public Works & Property Vacation Committee, Member Sub-Committee on Minutes, Member Community Relations Committee, Member Community Investment Committee, Member

# SHEILA NIEZGODSKI, 6<sup>TH</sup> District Council Member

### Vice-President

**Personnel & Finance Committee, Chairperson Public Works & Property Vacation, Chairperson** Council Rules Committee, Member

## DR. OLIVER DAVIS, AT LARGE Council Member

**Zoning & Annexation Committee, Chairperson** Utilities Committee, Vice-Chairperson Health and Public Safety Committee, Vice-Chairperson Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Member Zoning & Annexation Committee, Member Community Relations Committee, Member

Public Works & Property Vacation, Member PARC Committee, Member

## **RACHEL TOMAS MORGAN, AT LARGE Council Member**

Information & Technology Committee, Chairperson Health & Public Safety Committee, Chairperson Committee Investment Committee, Vice-Chairperson PARC Committee, Member Personnel & Finance Committee, Member

# KAREN L. WHITE, AT LARGE Council Member

**Residential Neighborhoods Committee, Chairperson** Public Works & Property Vacation, Vice-Chairperson Personnel and Finance Committee, Member Health & Public Safety Committee, Member Zoning & Annexation Committee, Member