## **Disposition of Historic Preservation Commission Assets Committee**

## Minutes

In attendance: Brandon Anderson (Chair), Elicia Feasel, Greta Fisher, Joseph Molnar, Vicky Rydzynski, Adam Toering, Jennifer Parker

The Ad-Hoc committee met on June 26, 2018 at 2pm in the Historic Preservation Commission Annex to discuss the goals, strategies, and tactics of the committee.

The Commission's use of the Annex provided by St. Joseph County will terminate in 2020. For that reason, and the City of South Bend's strong push to have all archival material digitized, the Committee was formed to aid in the transition and help lead the charge on the disposition of current assets.

HPC staff have been involved in the selection of a firm that will digitize the files in separate phases, with priority 1 being the historic districts and local landmarks. The company Bolt has been selected for this work, partially due to previous working relationships with the City, use of Laserfiche, and the Brownfields Coalition (<u>http://brownfieldcoalition.org</u>). The digital files will be created by Bolt and be maintained, organized, updated, and assigned metadata by HPC staff and possible interns/temporary help. After the scanning process, all of the files in this phase will be organized and stored in boxes provided by St. Joseph County and City of South Bend Archives.

The Commission is in possession of approximately 660 sets of blueprints. The blueprints will be divided into two donations; one to the Architecture Library at the University of Notre Dame and the other to The History Museum. Blueprints of buildings in Building South Bend (BSB) will be housed at the Architecture Library and the remaining will become part of The History Museum's blueprint collection.

The Commission is in possession of approximately 45 three-dimensional objects forming an architecture collection that contains items from buildings, sites, and structures in St. Joseph County. The objects that are chosen for disposal at the discretion of HPC will be gifted to The History Museum.

Brandon Anderson, current Chair of the Committee, shared that he will no longer be a staff member of The History Museum after July 13<sup>th</sup> and will also be resigning from the Historic Preservation Commission to take on the role of Executive Director & CEO of the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum. The Committee unanimously recommends the appointment of Greta Fisher, Architectural Historian, to the position of Committee Chair.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brandon J. Anderson