



RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SOUTH BEND, INDIANA, PUBLICLY COMMENDING AND HONORING THE RILEY HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS SWIM TEAM FOR BEING NAMED A GOLD LEVEL SCHOLAR TEAM BY THE NISCA

Whereas, the National Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association (NISCA) is a professional organization that supports High School coaches of all aquatic sports. The NISCA is dedicated to coaches' education and athlete recognition through the All-America programs. The NISCA allows opportunities for coaches to network and exchange knowledge and experience; and

Whereas, the goal of the NISCA Scholar Team Award is to recognize academic success in the classroom for entire swimming, diving, and water polo teams, as well as athletic success in the pool. The award is based on the average cumulative GPA of an entire varsity team of 12 or more athletes. The three levels of recognition are: Bronze (3.200-3.499), Silver (3.500-3.749) and Gold (3.750-4.000); and

Othereas, the Common Council proudly recognizes the 2015–2016 Riley High School Girls Swim Team on a combined grade point average of 3.774. In addition to the academic accomplishments, this team has compiled a 13-1 regular season record and finished 12th in the State Championship meet. The members of the 2015-2016 Girls Swim Team include:

2016 Graduate	Seniors	<u>Juniors</u>	Sophomores
Margo Bokhart	Marissa Danks	Sierra Blair	Anaya Connley
Lydia Thibault	Abby Kirkpatrick	Madison Blakesley	Sydney DeMeulenaere
Angelique Wise	Anna Kirkpatrick	Megan Cramer	McKenna Mast
	Jessica Vera	Hannah Grant	Melina Navarette
	Allison Walker	Shelby Houghton	Peyton Strantz
		Stasia Mitchell	
		Katie Walker	

Now, Therefore, be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, as follows:

<u>Section I</u>. The Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, publicly honors and congratulates the **2015-2016 Riley High School Girls Swim Team** for their excellent example of what it means to be a student athlete.

<u>Section II.</u> The Council extends their appreciation to the coaches, athletic director, and principal for their time, dedication and guidance: Susan Walker (Head Coach), Drew Maenhout (Assistant Coach), Teri Woodruff (Diving Coach), Marie Doan (Athletic Director) and Francois Bayingana (Principal). As well as, a special thank you to all the parents, family, friends and volunteers who support and encourage these amazing student athletes.

<u>Section III.</u> This Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its adoption by the Council and approval by the Mayor.

Tim Scott, 1 st District	Oliver J. Davis, 6 th District
Regina Williams Preston, 2 nd District	John Voorde, At Large
Randy Kelly, 3 rd District	Gavin Ferlic, At Large
Jo M. Broden, 4 th District	Karen L. White, At Large
Dr. David Varner, 5 th District	Kathleen Cekanski Farrand, Council Attorney
Attest:	Approved this day of October, 2016
Office of the City Clerk	Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend