



## **South Bend Common Council**

227 West Jefferson Boulevard, Room 441, Downtown South Bend, Indiana 46601

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Date: Tuesday, July 5, 2016

From: Council President Tim Scott Contact: 538-1936

## **South Bend City Council Doing the People's Business**

In the interest of providing greater transparency to the citizens of South Bend, I am pleased to release the mid-year attendance records for the South Bend Common Council. Pursuant to Council governing procedures, the Council meets regularly on the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> Mondays of each month at 7 pm in the Council Chambers. For the 2016 calendar year for the months of January through June, the Council attendance records are as follows:

1st District Council Member Tim Scott	82%
2 <sup>nd</sup> District Council Member Regina Williams-Preston	100%
3 <sup>rd</sup> District Council Member Randy Kelly	91%
4 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Jo M. Broden	100%
5 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Dr. David Varner	100%
6 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Oliver Davis	100%
At Large Council Member Gavin Ferlic	91%
At Large Council Member Karen L. White	100%
At Large Council Member John Voorde	100%

The Common Council also held additional Informal meetings on each of the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> Mondays, met as a Board of Finance in January pursuant to Indiana State law, held Executive Sessions, and recently met in a public session with the Mishawaka Common Council and the St. Joseph County Council, which are not reflected in the above numbers. The Common Council has multiple Standing Committees where Council Members have appointed to serve on them, which also meet regularly. The mid-year attendance records for Committees are as follows:

1 <sup>st</sup> District Council Member Tim Scott	82%
2 <sup>nd</sup> District Council Member Regina Williams-Preston	81%
3 <sup>rd</sup> District Council Member Randy Kelly	55%
4 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Jo M. Broden	99%
5 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Dr. David Varner	79%
6 <sup>th</sup> District Council Member Oliver Davis	90%
At Large Council Member Gavin Ferlic	79%
At large Council Member Karen L. White	100%
At Large Council Member John Voorde	100%

Please note, it is not required for Council Members to attend Committee meetings when they are not serving on those committees. You can find details of the Common Council's attendance & voting record at <a href="https://www.south-bendin.gov/government/content/council-attendance-voting-records">https://www.south-bendin.gov/government/content/council-attendance-voting-records</a>.

Several Council Members also serve on many additional Boards, Committees, and Commissions such as the Area Plan Commission, Redevelopment Commission, Community Campus Advisory Coalition (CCAC), Century Center Board of Managers, Special Elbel Committee – to name a few. The South Bend Common Council is dedicated to carrying out our stated *Council Mission: "To make certain that our City Government is always responsive to the needs of our residents and that the betterment of South Bend is always our highest priority"*.