

OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK

BIANCA L. TIRADO, CITY CLERK

COMMUNITY INVESTMENT

AUGUST 26, 2024 4:15 P.M.

Committee Members Present:

Troy Warner, Rachel Tomas Morgan, Ophelia Gooden Rodgers, Sherry Bolden-Simpson

Committee Members Absent:

Thomas Gryp, Kaine Kanczuzewski

Others Present:

Bianca L. Tirado, Matthew Neal, Samuel Turck, Bob Palmer, Canneth Lee, Sheila Niezgodski, Karen White, Dr. Oliver Davis

Presenter(s):

Mark Bemenderfer

Agenda:

Bill *No.* <u>24-28</u> — Confirming Resolution – Personal Property Tax Abatement 1710

North Sheridan Street

Members marked with an asterisk (*) are in virtual attendance.

Please note the attached link for the meeting recording: https://docs.southbendin.gov/WebLink/browse.aspx?dbid=0&mediaid=382880

Committee Chair Troy Warner called to order the Community Investment Committee meeting at 4:15 p.m.

Bill No. <u>24-28</u> — Confirming Resolution – Personal Property Tax Abatement 1710 North Sheridan Street

Mark Bemenderfer, Business Development Manager with offices on the 14th floor of the County-City Building spoke regarding Bill *No.* <u>24-28</u>. Hoosier Tank & Manufacturing is at this address, it would allow for the purchasing of new equipment to increase their production. This expansion will create fifteen (15) new jobs. There will be three hundred and twenty thousand, eight hundred and three dollars (\$320,803) in new taxes during the first five (5) years of the abatement period.

Committee Chair Warner held the public hearing and nobody spoke.

Committee Member Gooden Rodgers motioned to send Bill *No.* <u>24-28</u> to the Full Council with a favorable recommendation which was seconded by Committee Member Bolden-Simpson and carried by a vote of four (4) ayes and one (2) Committee Member absent.

INTEGRITY | SERVICE | ACCESSIBILITY

Elivet Quijada-Navarro Chief Deputy City Clerk Matthew Neal
DEPUTY/ DIRECTOR OF POLICY

Samuel Turck

DIRECTOR OF SPECIAL OF PROJECTS



CITY OF SOUTH BEND OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Committee Chair Troy Warner - Aye	Committee Vice Chair Rachel Tomas Morgan – Aye
Committee Member Ophelia Gooden Rodgers - Aye	Committee Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson – Aye
Committee Member Kaine Kanczuzewski - Absent	Committee Member Thomas Gryp - Absent

With no further business, Committee Chair Troy Warner adjourned the Community Investment Committee meeting at 4:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Troy Warner, Committee Chair

NOTICE FOR HEARING AND SIGHT IMPAIRED PERSONS
Auxiliary Aid or Other Services may be Available upon Request at No Charge.
Please give Reasonable Advance Request when Possible