

OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK BIANCA L. TIRADO, CITY CLERK

COMMUNITY RELATIONS MARCH 11, 2024 5:00 P.M. **Committee Members Present:** Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Sherry Bolden-Simpson, Canneth Lee, Sheila Niezgodski Committee Members Absent: None Other Council Present: Sharon McBride, Dr. Oliver Davis, Rachel Tomas Morgan, Karen L. White Other Council Absent: Type Others Present: Bianca L. Tirado, Elivet Quijada-Navarro, Danica Kulemeka, Matthew Neal, Bob Palmer None Presenters: Agenda: Bill No. <u>24-07</u> – Resolution Appointing the Initial Community Police Review Board Members

Please note the attached link for the meeting recording: http://docs.southbendin.gov/WebLink/browse.aspx?dbid=0&mediaid=381054

Committee Chair Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers called to order the Community Relations Committee meeting at <u>5:26 p.m.</u>

Bill No. 24-07 - Resolution Appointing the Initial Community Police Review Board Members

Committee Chair Gooden-Rodgers requested a nomination from each district for the Citizen Police Review Board.

District One (1)	Sherria Williams
District One (2)	Komonique Thomas
District One (3)	Kelly Johnson
District One (4)	LuElla Webster
District One (5)	Dennis James Givens

INTEGRITY | SERVICE | ACCESSIBILITY

Danica Kulemeka Chief Deputy/ Chief of staff Elivet Quijada-Navarro DEPUTY/ DIRECTOR OF POLICY Matthew Neal Director of Special Projects

EXCELLENCE | ACCOUNTABILITY | INNOVATION | INCLUSION | EMPOWERMENT 455 County-City Building | 227 W. Jefferson Blvd. | South Bend, Indiana 46601 | p. 574.235.9221 | f. 574.235.9173 | www.southbendin.gov

District One (6)	Clara Davis
At-Large District Five (5)	Joseph Adams
At-Large District Six (6)	Otis V. Davis
At-Large District Five (5)	Cheryl Ashe

Committee Chair Gooden-Rodgers opened the public hearing.

Logan Foster, 1138 College Street, South Bend IN 46628, requested that the nominations of former Councilmembers Henry Davis Jr. and Lori Hamann be considered.

Attorney Bob Palmer stated that if any of the Councilmembers have any objections to the list of nominees, they should voice those concerns.

Committee Vice Chair Canneth Lee asked if the nominations of former Councilmembers could be considered alternatives for the Citizen Police Review Board.

Committee Member Sheila Niezgodski stated that the ordinance does not permit alternatives, but that the nominations of former Councilmembers are noted in the resolution and were considered in the nomination process.

Councilmember Dr. Davis stated his appreciation for former Councilmember Valerie Schey, former Councilmember Henry Davis Jr., and former Councilmember Lori Hamann. Councilmember Dr. Davis stated that the meeting minutes detailing the history of the Citizen Police Review Board from 2014 is missing.

Council President Sharon McBride stated that the <u>2014</u> minutes are in the archives, but that information needs to be published.

Councilmember Dr. Davis stated that the 2014 meeting minutes need to be online.

Clerk Bianca L. Tirado stated that she is happy to work with Councilmember Dr. Davis on getting the <u>2014</u> meeting minutes published online.

Committee Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson stated that she is glad to see that all of the recommendations are listed in the resolution, and that in order to have been nominated they all must be fine citizens of the City of South Bend.

Attorney Palmer stated that the Full Council will have the opportunity to substitute names on the list before voting on the members of the Citizen Police Review Board.

Tiana Batiste-Waddell, 330 West Colfax Avenue, South Bend IN 46601, stated that she found it concerning that Committee Chair Gooden-Rodgers had trouble pronouncing Komonique Thomas's name, and that she would like to know the criteria used for making the nominee selections.

Committee Chair Gooden-Rodgers stated that she had trouble pronouncing Komonique Thomas's name because she has always known her nominee by her nickname, Koko.

CITY OF SOUTH BEND | OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Committee Member Bolden-Simpson motioned to send Bill *No. <u>24-07</u>* to the Full Council with a favorable recommendation, which was seconded by Committee Vice Chair Lee and carried by a vote of four (4) ayes.

Committee Chair Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers - Aye	Committee Vice Chair Canneth Lee – Aye
Committee Member Sherry Bolden-Simpson - Aye	Committee Member Sheila Niezgodski – Aye

With no further business, Committee Chair Gooden-Rodgers adjourned the Community Relations Committee meeting at <u>5:47 p.m.</u>

Respectfully Submitted,

n-Ralat Ophelia Gooden-Rodgers, Committee Chain

NOTICE FOR HEARING AND SIGHT IMPAIRED PERSONS Auxiliary Aid or Other Services may be Available upon Request at No Charge Please give Reasonable Advance Request when Poss