Be it remembered that the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, met in-person and via Microsoft Teams app on <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>January 3</u>, <u>2023</u>, at 5:00 p.m. Council President Sharon L. McBride called the meeting to order.

Please note the attached link for the meeting recording: https://docs.southbendin.gov/WebLink/0/fol/360589/Row1.aspx

ROLL CALL

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

Canneth Lee	1 st District
Henry Davis Jr.	2 nd District
Sharon L. McBride	3 rd District
Troy Warner	4 th District
Eli Wax	5 th District
Sheila Niezgodski	6 th District
Rachel Tomas Morgan	At-Large
Lori K. Hamann	At-Large
Karen L. White	At-Large

OTHERS PRESENT:

Dawn M. Jones City Clerk

Justin LePla Director of Special Projects

Bob Palmer Council Attorney

Council President Sharon McBride made a motion to resolve from the Presidency and turn the meeting over to the City Clerk, Dawn Jones, to begin the process of electing officers of the South Bend Common Council.

Dawn Jones, City Clerk, opened the nominations for the office of the Common Council President.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT FOR 2023

Councilmember Henry Davis Jr. nominated Councilmember Rachel Tomas Morgan for the office of the president, who declined the nomination.

Councilmember Lori Hamann nominated Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski for the office of the president, who declined the nomination.

Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski nominated Councilmember Sharon McBride for the office of the president, which was seconded by Councilmember Troy Warner.

Roll Call Vote for Common Council President:

Sharon McBride

Councilmember Sharon L. McBride - Aye	
Councilmember Troy Warner - Aye	
Councilmember Eli Wax - Aye	
Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski - Aye	
Councilmember Rachel Tomas-Morgan - Aye	
Councilmember Lori Hamann - Aye	
Councilmember Karen L. White - Aye	
Councilmember Henry Davis - Nay	
Councilmember Canneth Lee - Aye	

Councilmember Sharon McBride was elected as Council President with a roll call vote of eight (8) ayes and (1) nay.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE-PRESIDENT FOR 2023

Councilmember Canneth Lee nominated Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski for the office of Vice President which was seconded by Councilmember Rachel Tomas Morgan.

Roll Call Vote for Common Council Vice-President:

Sheila Niezgodski

Council President Sharon L. McBride - Aye	
Councilmember Troy Warner - Aye	
Councilmember Eli Wax - Aye	
Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski - Aye	
Councilmember Rachel Tomas-Morgan - Aye	
Councilmember Lori Hamann - Aye	
Councilmember Karen L. White - Aye	
Councilmember Henry Davis - Nay	
Councilmember Canneth Lee - Aye	

Councilmember Sheila Niezgodski was elected as Council Vice President with a roll call vote of eight (8) ayes and one (1) nay.

ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE FOR 2023

Councilmember Troy Warner nominated Councilmember Canneth Lee for the office of the Committee of the Whole, which was seconded by Council Vice-President Sheila Niezgodski and carried by a vote of nine (9) ayes.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL ATTORNEY FOR 2023

Council President Sharon McBride motioned to retain Bob Palmer as the South Bend Common Council Attorney, which was seconded by Councilmember Rachel Tomas Morgan and carried by a vote of nine (9) ayes.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Council President Sharon McBride adjourned the Council Organizational meeting at 5:07 p.m.