

City of South Bend Common Council

d

(574) 235-9321 Fax (574) 235-9173 TDD (574) 235-5567 http://www.southbendin.gov

441 County-City Building • 227 W. Jefferson Blvd South Bend, Indiana 46601

NEWS RELEASE

Tim Scott President

Karen White Vice-President

John Voorde Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

Tim Scott First District

Regina Williams-Preston Second District

Sharon L. McBride Third District

Jo M. Broden Fourth District

Jake Teshka Fifth District

Oliver Davis Sixth District

Gavin Ferlic At Large

John Voorde At Large

Karen White At Large **Subject:** Update: Upcoming Action Regarding the South Bend Police

Shooting

<u>Date:</u> Monday, June 24, 2019 <u>From:</u> Council President, Tim Scott

Council Member Oliver Davis Council Attorney Bob Palmer

Contact: 574-538-1936

Update:

Upcoming Action Regarding the South Bend Police Shooting

In light of Prosecutor Ken Cotter requesting a Special Prosecutor this afternoon. Due to this announcement, there will be no discussion or comment regarding this matter today at the 7:00 p.m. meeting of the Common Council.

Additionally, Bill No. 19-46, a resolution regarding the Restorative Justice Initiative, will not be voted on at tonight's meeting. After the Community Relations committee meeting, the committee has decided to table the resolution indefinitely. We will relay further information when it arises.

This is an update to the press release sent Friday, June 21, 2019 regarding the desire for appointment of a Special Prosecutor. We will continue to keep you updated.

###