RESOLUTION NO. 3482

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING DAVE VARNER FOR EXTRAORDINARY SERVICE TO THE SOUTH BEND REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Dave Varner has been a member of the Redevelopment Commission of the City of South Bend since 2008; and

WHEREAS, during his time with the Commission Dave has had leadership roles in the areas of business assistance, tax abatement, public finance and economic development; and

WHEREAS, Dave was responsible for establishment of the Douglas Road Economic Development Area, River West Development Area, River East Development Area, the Northeast Neighborhood Development Area, the Northeast Neighborhood Residential TIF district, and for combining the Sample-Ewing Development Area with the Airport Economic Development Area; and

WHEREAS, Dave played a leading role in negotiating through the details of many important projects such as Erskine Commons, Erskine Village, AJ Wright, the Renaissance District, Nello, Noble Americas, the South Bend Career Academy, Eddy Street Commons, Hibberd, Barnes and Thornburg, Wharf Project/Cascade, Liberty Towers/Aloft Hotel, Armory; and

WHEREAS, Dave played a key role in securing a Certified Technology Park designation for Ignition Park and Innovation Park. Ignition Park houses Data Realty, Catalyst I, II and a soon to be built Catalyst III with multiple businesses including Notre Dame Turbo, Technology Resource Center and the future home of Press Ganey; and

WHEREAS, Dave's creative approach to funding resulted in a development plan to reconstruct Douglas Road from SR 23 to the Mishawaka city limits, and he has participated in and supported numerous studies and analysis of the downtown, resulting in millions of dollars of new investment; and

WHEREAS, Dave oversaw development of numerous projects with a handful listed of South Bend Chocolate Café, South Bend Chocolate Park, WNIT, Coveleski Park, Berlin Place, Environmental Health Labs, Portage Prairie, Huttsfield Square, Tire Rack, Gibbs Wire, Tech Data, Century Center, Ireland Road improvements, Menards, Main-Lafayette Corridor, Oliver Plow Industrial Park, KeyBank renovation, East Race and River Race Town Homes, the Veterans Administration Clinic, Memorial Home Care, Brown Mackie College, River Front Liquor District, Hall of Fame, Courtyard by Marriott Hotel, Renovation of the former Natatorium, Hansel Center, Rushton, Hotel LaSalle, American Bank & Trust Place, Gateway Center, Fire Station #4, Leighton Plaza, Studebaker Buildings 84, 112 & 113, Stephenson Mills, Lafayette Building, Ziker's, Franklin Street Technology Park, Shambaugh & Sons, LangLab, Unity Gardens, South Well Field, St. Joseph County Library, Western Avenue Streetscape, St Joseph Streetscape, Lincoln Way West-Charles Martin Streetscape Improvements and Smart Streets; and WHEREAS, Dave helped South Bend grow their green spaces at Howard Park, Seitz Park, Erskine Golf Course, Rum Village, Bowman Creek, Coal Line Trail and the City Cemetery.

WHEREAS, Dave has always been a patient, steady, and reliable source of objective information with facts and figures that have allowed the Commission to make sound decisions without the sometimes-emotional reaction to what is politically popular at the time; and

WHEREAS, Dave has never forgotten the public that he serves, giving unselfishly of his time for the betterment of the community with no concern for individual honor or recognition; and

WHEREAS, Dave has decided the time is right to pursue other endeavors; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the South Bend Redevelopment Commission hereby recognizes Dave Varner for his extraordinary commitment and distinguished service to the South Bend Redevelopment Commission and the City of South Bend; thanks him for the outstanding contributions he has made; and declares it will sincerely miss his diligent work and his presence at future meetings.

ADOPTED at a meeting of the South Bend Redevelopment Commission held on May 9, 2019, at 1308 County-City Building, 227 W. Jefferson Boulevard, South Bend, Indiana 46601.

SOUTH BEND REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

By:

Marcia I Jones, President

Attest:

Quentin Phillips, Secretary