

City of South Bend Common Council

441 County-City Building ● 227 W. Jefferson Blvd South Bend, Indiana 46601 (574) 235-9321 Fax (574) 235-9173 TDD (574) 235-5567 http://www.southbendin.gov

Tim Scott President

Oliver Davis Vice-President

Gavin Ferlic Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

Tim Scott First District

Regina Williams-Preston Second District

Sharon L. McBride Third District

Jo M. Broden Fourth District

Jake Teshka Fifth District

Oliver Davis Sixth District

Gavin Ferlic At Large

John Voorde At Large

Karen White At Large

NEWS RELEASE

Subject: Common Council Privilege of the Floor

Date: Monday, January 14, 2019From: South Bend Common CouncilContact: Bob Palmer, Council Attorney

bpalmer@southbendin.gov

Press Release:

Common Council Privilege of The Floor

The South Bend Common Council begins a new year with its first substantive public meeting of the year tonight at 7:00 P.M. The Common Council welcomes and encourages full and open discussions on all issues under the jurisdiction of the City. In order to promote such a free exchange of viewpoints, however, it is necessary to limit all discussion to just those issues.

Items on the published agenda are items under the City's jurisdiction. In some cases, issues raised by individuals during the Privilege of the Floor portion of the meeting are not within the City's jurisdiction. Examples of such issues are issues within County, State or Federal jurisdiction, matters of personal and/or confidential nature, and matters relating to Council members 'employment unrelated to the City's jurisdiction'.

The Privilege of the Floor portion of the Council meeting comes toward the end of each meeting. This notice of what is permissible during Privilege of the Floor is meant to avoid persons waiting through the earlier portions of the Council meeting and then being advised that an issue not within the City's jurisdiction cannot be raised and asked to be seated.

The Common Council appreciates everyone's cooperation.