2017 Common Council Members:

Tim Scott, 1st District Regina Williams-Preston, 2nd District Randy Kelly, 3rd District Jo Broden, 4th District Dr. David A. Varner, 5th District Oliver J. Davis, 6th District Gavin Ferlic, At Large Karen L. White, At Large John Voorde, At Large

2017 Council Officers:

Tim Scott, Council President Oliver J. Davis, Vice-President Gavin Ferlic, Committee of the Whole Chairperson

Kareemah Fowler, City Clerk Bob Palmer, Council Attorney

Phone: (574) 235-9321 Fax: (574) 235-9173 TDD: (574) 235-5567 http://www.southbendin.gov

http://www.facebook.com/ SouthBendCityCouncil

441 County-City Building 227 West Jefferson Boulevard South Bend, Indiana 46601-1830

> South Bend Common Council

Mission Statement of the South Bend Common Council

"To make certain that our City Government is always responsive to the needs of our residents & that the betterment of South Bend is always our highest priority"





2017 Standing Committees of the South Bend Common Council





http://www.southbendin.gov

Council's Standing Committees

The South Bend Common Council has 11 committees, which have at least four (4) Council Members on each. Citizen Members are selected by Committee Chairpersons to serve. Each Committee makes advisory recommendations to the Common Council on bills referred for review. Council Committees include:



Community Investment Committee

At Large Member Gavin Ferlic chairs this committee which is charged with overseeing various activities of the Community Investment Department & programs directed by its divisions. Tax abatement requests are heard by this committee.

Community Relations Committee



2nd District Member Regina Williams-Preston chairs this committee which is

charged with helping to develop relationships & ongoing communications with other public & private entities operating in the city.

Council Rules Committee: This committee oversees rules governing the Common Council.

Health and Public Safety Committee

4th District Member Jo Broden chairs this committee which oversees the many activities performed by the Department of Code Enforcement, EMS, Fire Department, Police Department, ordinance violations, and related health and public safety issues.

Information and Technology Committee

Ist District Member Tim Scott chairs this committee which oversees the City's information technologies so that all computer systems, websites, & related technologies



are maintained and upgraded so that the city is competitive.

Parks, Arts, Recreation & Culture

3rd District Member Randy Kelly chairs this committee which oversees the Century Center, Regional Museum of Art, Morris Performing Arts Center, & the Park and Recreation Department.



Personnel & Finance Committee

Council Member at Large Karen L. White chairs this committee which oversees the Department of



Administration and Finance, fiscal matters, reviews budget and appropriation requests, salaries, personnel policies and procedures.

Public Works & Property Vacation

At Large Member John Voorde chairs this committee which oversees the many activities performed by the



Department of Public Works and the Building Department. Requests to vacate public streets & alleys as well as public works appropriations are heard by this committee.

Residential Neighborhoods Committee

Council Member at Large Karen L. White chairs this committee which oversees the

various activities & issues related to neighborhood development and

enhancement.

Utilities Committee

5th District Member Dr. David Varner

chairs this committee, which oversees the activities of all enterprise funds and operations such as the Bureau of Waterworks, Bureau of Sewers and related entities.

Zoning and Annexation Committee

6th District Council Member Oliver J. Davis chairs this committee which



hears special exception petitions from the Area Board of Zoning Appeals; receives recommendations from the Historic Preservation Commission and specific zoning requests from the Area Plan Commission; as well as requests for annexation into the city limits of the City of South Bend.

Meeting minutes of each of the Standing Committees are filed in the Office of the City Clerk. They are available for public inspection during regular business hours, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., excluding City holidays, and are also available online at the City's website. *www.southbendin.gov* All meetings are subject to the State of Indiana's Open Door Law.



