RESOLUTION NO.	



A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SOUTH BEND, INDIANA CELEBRATING SAINT JOSEPH HIGH SCHOOL'S CLASS 3A STATE BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

Whereas, the South Bend Saint Joseph High School Indians have a long and storied tradition of, among other things, athletic excellence, which brings recognition not only to the school, but also to the City of South Bend; and

Whereas, that tradition includes a 22 sport program which, before the recently completed baseball season, has captured: 16 Northern Indiana Conference League titles, 146 Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) Sectional Titles; 64 IHSAA Regional Titles; 23 IHSAA Semi-State Titles; 15 IHSAA Runner -up Titles; 9 State Championship Titles; and 9 individual IHSAA Championship Titles; and

Whereas, the 2017 Saint Joseph baseball team was coached by John Gumpf, who was named by the South Bend Tribune as the Indiana Coach of the Year; and

Whereas, that baseball team began the season with a sixteen-game winning streak and finished the season with a 25-4 record; and

Whereas, those 25 wins included a Sectional Championship, and the school's first ever baseball Regional and Semi-State Championships; and

Whereas, the season ended with a 4-0 shutout victory over Jasper High School in the IHSAA Class 3A State Championship game; and

Whereas, in winning the State Championship, the team overcame the breakdown of the team bus on the way to the championship game aided by great team chemistry, outstanding defense, and a lucky rock.

Now, Therefore, be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, as follows:

<u>Section I.</u> The South Bend Common Council proudly recognizes the 2017 Saint Joseph High School Indians baseball team for adding to the athletic tradition of the school and for bringing recognition to the South Bend community.

<u>Section II</u>. The Common Council wishes the players and coaches continued success in all their endeavors in the coming years.

Section III. This Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its adoption by the Common Council and approval by the Mayor.

Tim Scott, 1st District Council Member	Oliver J. Davis, 6 th District Council Member
Regina Williams Preston., 2 nd District	John Voorde, At Large Council Member
Randy Kelly, 3 rd District Council Member	Gavin Ferlic, At Large Council Member
Jo Broden, 4 th District Council Member	Karen L. White, At Large Council Member
Dr. David Varner, 5 th District	Robert J. Palmer, Council Attorney
Hitest:	Approved this day of, 2017.
Kareemah Fowler, City Clerk	Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend, Indiana