

City of South Bend Common Council

441 Count-City Building • 227 W. Jefferson Blvd South Bend, Indiana 46601 (574) 235-9321 Fax (574) 235-9173 TDD (574) 235-5567 http://www.southbendin.gov

Tim Scott President

Oliver Davis Vice-President

Gavin Ferlic Chairperson, Committee of the Whole

Tim Scott First District

Regina Williams-Preston Second District

Randy Kelly Third District

Jo M. Broden Fourth District

Dr. David Varner Fifth District

Oliver Davis Sixth District

Gavin Ferlic At Large

John Voorde At Large

Karen White At Large

PRESS RELEASE

May 31, 2017

CONTACT:

Kareemah Fowler, (574) 235-9221 kfowler@southbendin.gov

Tim Scott, (574) 235-5980 tscott@southbendin.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CITY COUNCIL INTRODUCES FACEBOOK LIVE STREAMING OF COMMON COUNCIL MEETINGS

In an effort to promote open and transparent government, the South Bend Common Council and City Clerk Kareemah Fowler have partnered with WNIT to expand Common Council meeting live streaming to Facebook. In the past, video live streaming was available through the City of South Bend website, WNIT, or the day following the meeting on YouTube as South Bend Common Council Meeting. Now, residents have additional access directly from the Common Council Facebook page! With this, the Common Council and City Clerk Fowler not only aim to promote transparency, but also hope to provide a space that empowers residents to stay well informed about the "people's business." Moreover, people have the opportunity to share, comment and interact in a way that only social media platforms provide. Council President Tim Scott is hopeful about the level of engagement this new medium will bring, especially, as the City budget season gears up.

The Facebook live streaming is available every 2nd/4th Monday at 7:00 p.m. in conjunction with Common Council Meeting schedule. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact the Office of Clerk at sbclerk@southbendin.gov or 574-235-9221.

###