



RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SOUTH BEND, INDIANA, PUBLICLY COMMENDING AND HONORING THE RILEY HIGH SCHOOL 2016-2017 BOYS' SWIM TEAM ON A SUCCESSFUL SEASON AS CITYWIDE, NORTHERN INDIANA CONFERENCE (NIC), AND SECTIONAL CHAMPIONS

Whoreas, the Common Council proudly recognizes the **2016–2017** Riley High School Boys' Swim Team on a successful swim season wherein they won the Citywide, NIC and Sectional Champions. Stripping the perennial regional champion, Penn High School, and securing the regional NIC title for the first time in 10 years.

Whereas, the Riley Wildcats have amassed an amazing dual meet record of **154-21** under the tutelage of Head Coach John VanDriessche. Under Coach John's instruction, they have also placed in the top 10 at the State Championships five (5) times; including, as state runner-ups in 2002 and 2003. Coach John is also the head coach/owner of the South Bend Swim Club, a team he founded in 2006 to serve as the feeder program for Riley High School. There have been as many as 150 current and future Wildcats in the swim club.

Whereas, on behalf of our entire community, the South Bend Common Council is honored to recognize the hard work and dedication of the team, coaches, manager, athletic director and school principal. The Council extends their appreciation to the coaches, athletic director, and principal for their time, dedication and guidance: John VanDriessche (Head Coach), Ted Meck (Assistant Coach), Ryan Moser (Diving Coach), Marie Doan (Athletic Director) and Francois Bayingana (Principal). The members of the 2016-2017 Riley High School Varsity Boys' Swim Team include:

Seniors	<u>Juniors</u>	Sophomores	<u>Freshmen</u>
Carter Baker	Adam Broadstreet	Isaac Baker	Gabe Falcone
Noah DeBew	Kyle Kirkpatrick	Tyler Bates	Spencer Houghton
Coby Frame	Kyle Kytta	Joey Gomes	Bryce Knight
Brett Maurer	Alex Paluszewski	Aiden Maurer	Dieter Ruszkowski
Brandon Schwing	Errol Thomas	Bryce Schwing	
Eduardo Sostero	Garrett Woodbury	Kyle Szalai	
Jon Stutzman	•	Reuben Velazquez	
		Andrew Walkowski	

Now, therefore, be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, as follows:

<u>Section I</u>. The Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, publicly honors and congratulates the **2016-2017 Riley High School Boys' Swim Team** for winning the Citywide Championship, Northern Indiana Conference (NIC) Conference and Sectional Championship. The Council extends a special thank you to all the parents, family and friends who support and encourage these amazing athletes.

Section II. This Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its adoption by the Council and approval by the Mayor.

Tim Scott, 1 st District	Oliver J. Davis, 6th District	
Regina Williams Preston, 2 nd District	John Voorde, At Large	
Randy Kelly, 3 rd District	Gavin Ferlic, At Large	
Jo M. Broden, 4 th District	Karen L. White, At Large	
Dr. David Varner, 5 th District	Aladean DeRose, Interim Council Attorney	
Attest:	Approved thisday of May 2017	
Kareemah N. Fowler, City Clerk	Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend	