Laserfiche WebLink
REGULAR MEETING MAY 13, 2013 <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Whereas, the South Bend Common Council recognizes that the National Law <br />Enforcement Officer Memorial in Washington, D.C. is the Nation’s monument to federal, state <br />and local enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty while <br />serving and protecting their communities as a sworn officer; and <br /> <br /> <br /> Whereas, the Common Council further recognizes that on Friday, May 10, 2012 at 7:30 <br />p.m., the Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge # 36 held their Annual Tribute and Memorial Service , <br />to honor the fifteen (15) South Bend Police Department Officers who gave their lives in the line <br />of duty while protecting our City. Therefore, on behalf of a very grateful South Bend Community, <br />the Common Council wishes to honor each of these very special Police Officers: <br /> <br /> <br />Hans Brandt Paul R. Deguch Lewis Keller Delbert Thompson <br />Fred E. Buland Charles E. Farkas, Sr. Neil McIntyre Lloyd Thompson <br />Oscar Christenson Thomas J. DeRue, Sr. Nick S. Polizzotto Howard Wagner <br />Samuel Cooper Ronald St. Germain, Sr. Scott Lee Severns <br /> <br /> <br />The Common Council rededicates itself to honoring each of these 15 fallen officers, who are <br />among the 20,000 law enforcement officers in America who have given their lives in the line of <br />duty since 1791, with the name of each officer being engraved on the walls of the National Law <br />Enforcement Officers Memorial depicted above, as well as on the monument at the South Bend <br />Police Headquarters. <br />Now, Therefore, be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of South Bend, Indiana, as <br />follows: <br /> <br /> Section I. The South Bend Common Council recognizes that approximately 900,000 law <br />enforcement are currently serving across America; and that in 2012, 119 officers made the <br />ultimate sacrifice. On behalf of all of the citizens of the City of South Bend, Indiana, the <br />Common Council hereby publicly commemorates and gratefully honors each and every one of <br />these police officers, and in particular the fifteen (15) fallen members of the South Bend Police <br />Department, who died while serving and protecting the residents of the City of South Bend, <br />Indiana. <br /> <br /> Section II. The Common Council hereby declares May 122h – May 18th , as Police <br />Officers Memorial Week in South Bend, Indiana, which will coincide with National Police Week <br />being celebrated across our great nation. The Common Council urges all citizens to remember <br />and thank our dedicated police officers who are serving today as part of the “thin blue line”, <br />standing between the lawful and the lawless. The Council notes that all American flags are to be <br />flown at half-staff on May 15th, in honor of all fallen officer, their families, and friends <br />throughout the United States. <br /> <br />Section III. This Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its adoption by the <br />Common Council and approval by the Mayor. <br /> <br />stth <br />s/Tim Scott, 1 District s/Oliver J. Davis, 6 District <br />nd <br />s/Henry Davis, Jr., 2 District s/Derek D. Dieter, At Large <br />rd <br />s/Valerie Schey, 3 District s/Gavin Ferlic, At Large <br />th <br />s/Dr. Fred Ferlic, 4 District s/Karen L. White, At Large <br />th <br />Dr. David Varner, 5 District Kathleen Cekanski-Farrand, Attorney <br />th <br />Attest: Approved this 13 day of May, 2013 <br />s/John Voorde, City Clerk s/Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />Councilmember Dr. Fred Ferlic made the presentation for this Resolution by reading it in its <br />entirety and presenting it to FOP #36 President Dan Demler. <br /> <br />A Public Hearing was held on the Resolution at this time. <br />2 <br /> <br /> <br />