Laserfiche WebLink
<br />REGULAR MEETINGMARCH 25, 2013 <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />nd <br /> Whereas, Council Member at Large Mary Chris Adams was the 2 woman to serve on <br />the South Bend Common Council serving from 1976-1979; who championed many local fiscal <br />reforms; and <br /> <br />rdst <br /> Whereas, 3 District Council Member Beverlie J. Beck was the 1 woman to serve as <br />Council Vice-President (1980); lst women to serve as Council President (‘83-‘86) and served <br />from 1980-1987; and <br /> <br />ndst <br /> Whereas, 2 District Council Member Eugenia Braboy was the 1 African-American <br />woman to serve on the Common Council, serving from ’84-87, and as Council Vice-President <br />each of those four (4) years; and <br /> <br /> Whereas, Council Member at Large Beverly D. Crone served from 1980-1986, and left <br />the Council to become County Auditor and went on to serve as a St. Joseph County <br />Commissioner; and <br /> <br /> Whereas, 4th District Council Member Ann B. Puzzello served from 1984-1995, & the <br />st <br />1 woman to return to the Council, serving from 2004-2011, making her the longest serving <br />women on the Council; and <br /> <br /> Whereas, Council Member at Large Loretta J. Duda served from 1988-1995, and left the <br />Council to become South Bend City Clerk in 1996; and <br /> <br />ndnd <br /> Whereas, 2 District Council Member Charlotte D. Pfeifer was the 2 African- <br />American woman to serve on the Common Council, serving from 1996-2007, serving as <br />Council President 3 of those years; and <br /> <br /> Whereas, Council Member at Large Karen L. White began serving on the Common <br />Council in 2000; served as Council President in 2003 & 2004; & continues serving today in <br />many key leadership positions; and <br /> <br />rd <br /> Whereas, 3 District Council Member Valerie Schey is the most recent woman to be <br />elected to the Common Council, beginning her legislative service in 2012; and <br /> <br />st <br /> Whereas, in 1975, the 1 all women law firm in the state, Cekanski & Swartz was hired to <br />provide legal services to the Council, with Kathleen Cekanski Farrand continuing to provide <br />such legal services today. <br /> <br /> Now, Therefore, be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of South Bend, <br />Indiana, as follows: <br /> <br />Section I. The South Bend Common Council recognizes, honors and celebrates all of the women <br />listed in this Resolution. The Council believes that each of their stories of service and dedication <br />should serve as reminders that individuals can indeed make a positive difference in their <br />communities. <br /> <br />Section II. This Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its adoption by the <br />Council and approval by the Mayor. <br /> <br />stth <br />s/Tim Scott, 1 District s/Oliver J. Davis, 6 District <br />nd <br />s/Henry Davis, Jr., 2 District s/Derek D. Dieter, At Large <br />rd <br />s/Valerie Schey, 3 District s/Gavin Ferlic, At Large <br />th <br />s/Dr. Fred Ferlic, 4 District s/Karen L. White, At Large <br />th <br />Dr. David Varner, 5 District Kathleen Cekanski-Farrand, Attorney <br />th <br />Attest: Approved this 25 day of March, 2013 <br />s/John Voorde, City Clerk s/Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend <br /> <br />Councilmember Oliver J. Davis made the presentation for this Resolution by reading it in its <br />entirety and presenting them to Mary Chris Adams, Beverlie Beck, Beverly Crone, Ann <br />Puzzello, Loretta Duda, Charlotte Pfeifer, Karen White, Valerie Schey and Kathleen Cekanski- <br />2 <br /> <br />